The Writer


I enjoy writing, and often write as a hobby. Sometimes I write for enjoyment. Other times I write, because I am compelled to put down my thoughts to paper. Sometimes I am frustrated to get out the thoughts in the order I would like. I penned this poem last night, about 2:30 in the morning, which shows how my writing is.

The Writer
(Dec. 13, 2006 2:30 a.m.)
Would that I could write them down
The thoughts and images that oft abound.
Deep in the recesses of my mind’s eye
To write them down, oh that I try.
Sometimes I struggle just to organize,
A thought to write or formalize
Yet other times words seem to flow
As down to paper the ink does go.

Days flow both up and down
New stories and thoughts do abound.
I watch the world with an open eye
To find new thoughts I shall try.
So shall I strive to organize
And write them down to formalize
As thoughts to my mind do flow
I’ll write them down ‘til they go.

— Daniel Shipton
Leave a Reply

