Walking with God


By faith Enoch was taken from this life, so that he did not experience death: “He could not be found, because God had taken him away.” For before he was taken, he was commended as one who pleased God.” Hebrews 11:5 NIV)

I realized years ago, like many people, that life is a journey.  I often think of my own life, and then I think of the Bible’s account of Jacob.  Jacob get’s his name change, from Jacob to Israel, after wrestling with God.  The meaning changes from “one who grasps at the heel” to “one who wrestles with God.  The nation of Israel comes from Jacob, and out of this comes our Judeo-Christian faith and heritage.

I find this name quite fitting for many of us on the journey with God.  After all, I know in my own experience that I often feel like my daily walk with God is up and down.  I have days that are hotter and days that are cooler in my spiritual growth.   There are many times that I read Scripture and think about how I should change, I set the goals, and then I find myself falling short of the mark.  I feel a little like the apostle Paul who wrote, “the things I don’t want to do I do, and the things I do not want to I find myself doing,” (Romans 7:15).

Then we read about the inspiring people, like Enoch. “Enoch walked with God; then he was no more, because God took him” (Genesis 5:24).  Enoch lived in a sinful and fallen world like us, yet he managed to walk so close with God that God simply took him away without facing death.

I don’t believe most of us can ever find ourselves in such communion with God that Enoch had.  I do hope that God continues to draw us into a deeper relationship with Him.  I pray that we will have better and closer times with him; more often in the future than we find ourselves struggling with Him.

May God continue to draw you closer and closer with Him, as you journey with Him.

 

— Blessings on your Journey with Christ.

D.G.S.

Leave a Reply

